ICC Events

Rangana Herath to Lead Sri Lanka Against Bangladesh

March 5, 2017

Sri Lanka to Be Lead by Rangana Herath


Sri Lanka has announced that Rangana Herath will head the Sri Lankan Test squad against Bangladesh for next week’s two-match home series. Left-arm spinner Herath replaces Angelo Mathews as the latter was dropped from the squad because of his hamstring injury. Other players to join the squad are Malinda Pushpakumara, Asela Gunaratne; Niroshan Dickwella.

In 2012, Pushpakumara first became a part of the Sri Lanka A team during which faced Zimbabwe and South Africa at a triangular tournament. He also made his appearance for the Sri Lanka A-team against Pakistan in 2015. But, Pushpakumara’s match-wining 13 for 205 for Sri Lanka A against England Lions helped him to earn a place in the national squad. Well, the left-arm spinner has been persistently remarkable in first-class wickets. He has a total of 558 first-class wickets averaging 19.85.

Herath led the Sri Lankan team in November to victory last year winning 2-0 against Zimbabwe. Sri Lanka also won their match against Australia with a clean sweep of 3-0.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, has only won three games since they gained the Test status. However, their latest achievement was their historic win against England in their homeland.

It was in 2014 that Sri Lanka and Bangladesh last faced each other for a 2-match Test series held in Sri Lanka.

The Sri Lanka squad includes Rangana Herath (Captain), Upul Tharanga, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Asela Gunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Dimuth Karunaratne, Dinesh Chandimal, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vikum Sanjaya Bandara, Nuwan Pradeep, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilruwan Perera, Malinda Pushpakumara.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *